Data on Region

What is the Atlantic Northeast?

This term denotes the region of North America containing the six New England states, the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island, as well as Quebec east of Montreal and south of the St.Lawrence River. The region has an economic and cultural unity shaped in part by its transportation. Almost entirely surrounded by water, it has just three land choke points at its western boundary through which it is connected to the North American continent: Montreal, Albany, and New York.